mercurial sunlight

when the clouds part she’s there, quick as a flash
I reach my hand up in greeting but only get
a glimpse of her tangerine dress as she turns the corner

in the summertime she likes to come out more,
gradual awakening of the daisies her children
round the fields and bring in meaning

I have never thought of her as auspicious
because everytime she’s here she takes up
the whole room and I am renewed in life

but how quick she can choose to hide
become moody and flit in between the clouds
casting gray shadows and low light in every tree

sometimes, when she’s thinking about sonnets
how deeply tragic the fate of Neptune was,
she will cry and howl and scream – I have never

known anyone else to be so openly emotional
to feel the world as deeply as she passes it
through every revolution of the day, renewed.


Day 29: …In recognition of this occasion, Merriam-Webster put together a list of ten words from Taylor Swift songs. We hope you don’t find this too torturous yourself, but we’d like to challenge you to select one these words, and write a poem that uses the word as its title.

I chose the word “mercurial” because the word immediately made me think of the shifting moods of the weather of the city that I currently live in. Very unfinished and lots to revise, but at least it’s something!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started