when we spill

deep truths its like they tumble out of our lips
i have never been afraid to tell you anything.

secrets they float in front of us to pluck out of air
place on our tongues, let melt into the back of our minds.

ourselves onto each other i curve myself into your side
the safest place that i have ever been.

ourselves into each other my shame slips away
like a fine wine, the dawn, the start of a new beginning.


Day 27: Today we’d like to challenge you to write an “American sonnet.” What’s that? Well, it’s like a regular sonnet but . . . fewer rules? Like a traditional Spencerian or Shakespearean sonnet, an American sonnet is shortish (generally 14 lines, but not necessarily!), discursive, and tends to end with a bang, but there’s no need to have a rhyme scheme or even a specific meter.

Off-prompt today, but determined to still be as consistent as I can with writing despite life being as busy as ever. My goal for myself this year is to complete at least 20/30 days of NaPoWriMo, and with just a couple days left I can’t stop now!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started